September: Q & A Session

About:

If there is anything that you would like to ask feel free to post it here. Please comment on what guides need clarification or guides that you wish to see. 

Please be clear when you have a question and list the Motherboard, CPU and GPU that you are using. Without that information answering the question may be difficult. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to September: Q & A Session

  1. Samuel says:

    Hi Rampage, why use NullCPUPowermanagement.kext in your Haswell.dmg?, Thanks.

    • rampagedev says:

      Some boards still have issues with there BIOS so I leave it up to the end user. To many boards to focus on at this time. Once the DMG files get more refined I will address it.

  2. Joe Lafreet says:

    I’d like to see some experiments on X99 / Haswell-E platform.

  3. benthemotto says:

    Hi Rampage, why you don’t support sleep?

  4. DJenkins says:

    Hey Rampage, I wanted to know how the SSDT and SSDT-1 work.. e.g. do you have both in the folder at the same time, or just one… and do you leave the SSDT-1 named exactly as such? Thanks

  5. stinga11 says:

    I looked at the XNU sources and leaving me by some pictures I’ve seen of CPU-z which show the cpuid of 5960X, 5830K and 5820K. XNU do not have full support. The cpuid.h has the information about these processor but the cpuid.c haven’t. I will have edited the cpuid.c and compiled to add this support. But I don’t know is needed. If when you have one of these processors you don’t boot you OS X, let me know and I will send you.

  6. stinga11 says:

    @rampagedev

    It’s strange because the 0x3C is the cpuid of other processors (i7-47xx i5-46xx ect.) as well. And Os X obviously boot with these processors.

    There may be a problem with the xcpm. Maybe the kernel I did for haswell-E works with that processor because it not have xcpm. I will send you the kernel, for you to try with your processor.

  7. rpz says:

    @rampagedev

    What can you tell us about Yosemite support? Will there be much work to do? Will you prioritize certain chipsets for the first release?

    • rampagedev says:

      I have finished testing under 10.10 about 2 weeks ago. I just have one more file to finish and I will add full support. Since there were major changes that took place with 10.10 I did not want new users installing 10.10 as it would create many issues for them and confusion.

  8. Herchenroder Hans says:

    Do you guys think we might see a new MacBookPro for this year?

Leave a Reply

